Saturday, 17 December 2011

Indian Money

Indian Money Indian currency is known as Rupee abbreviated as INR. The Indian money is available in denominations of Rs.1, Rs.2, Rs.5, Rs.10, Rs.20, Rs.50, Rs.100, Rs.500 and Rs.1000. One rupee consists of a hundred paise which are in denominations of 10p, 25p and 50p. However, these paise are rarely used. Coins are available for Rs.1, Rs.2, Rs.5 and Rs.10. Changing money in India can be a very cumbersome process especially in small towns, thus the visitors are advised to change a substantial amount at one time. All the banks do not accept Travellers' cheques. Make sure to change the money at accredited bureaus only; changing at any other place is illegal and also runs the risk of being counterfeit. Foreigners have no restrictions on the amount of foreign currency or travellers' cheques and they can import any amount, provided he/she has filled a declaration form on arrival. This will help in exchanging your currency at the time of arrival as well as the taking back your unspent currency at the time of leaving. Money can be easily changed at the airport, some hotels and several branches of International foreign exchange providers.

No comments: